England squad for ICC World Cup 2023: Jason Roy dropped, Harry Brook named in final squad

ICC World Cup 2023 England Team and Players: Cricket is a favorite sport in many parts of the world. Hailing from England, the country won its first World Cup title in 2019. As the defending champions, all eyes will be on England at the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup, the biggest and most prestigious cricket tournament on the planet.

It is held every four years, and this year it will be hosted by India, from October 5 to November 19. There is only one month left, and the deadline for team registration is approaching (September 28). India recently revealed their official squad for the World Cup, but many teams are yet to do so. Australia and England have also announced their full squads and final 15-man rosters.

England will take on New Zealand, the 2019 World Cup runners-up, in their first match on October 5 in Ahmedabad.

The England-Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced England’s provisional squad for the World Cup in August, which will be finalized on 17 September. It wasn’t expected to be much different, but England’s final 15-man roster revealed a shock surprise.

You can check the full ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 England Team and Players List here.


ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Tickets

Our @Cricket World Cup 1⃣5⃣ 😍

Are we excited yet?! 😆#CWC23 | #EnglandCricket pic.twitter.com/u5FOly7rAk

— England Cricket (@englandcricket)
September 17, 2023

See also  NEET PG Counseling 2023 Special Round of Wanderer Vacancy Starts Today, Filling Selection from 18th November

England squad for the 2023 ICC World Cup

England are the favorites to win the World Cup trophy this year, after showing their dominance in the previous season and since then they have consistently performed well. However, some players like Eoin Morgan, who captained the team in 2019 and will retire in 2022, will be missed by fans.

Opener Jos Buttler will lead the England team at the World Cup. There were some surprising omissions from the provisional squad such as Jofra Archer and Harry Brook. But nothing is finalized yet. However, in the final 15-man roster, Brook was selected and Jason Roy was dropped in a surprise decision.

The 33-year-old Roy is one of the best active batsmen in the world and has shown no signs of poor form in recent times. He missed the New Zealand series due to injury. Roy is also very experienced and was part of the England squad that won the 2019 World Cup.

Harry Brook, on the other hand, is a 24-year-old all-rounder who is quite adept with both bat and ball. He was part of the England team that won the 2022 T20 World Cup.

This is England’s full official World Cup squad of 15 players.

  • Jos Buttler (captain)
  • Moeen Ali
  • Gus Atkinson
  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Sam Curran
  • Liam Livingstone
  • Dawid Malan
  • Adil Rashid
  • Joe Root
  • Harry Brook
  • Ben Stokes
  • Reece Topley
  • David Willey
  • Mark Wood
  • Chris wakes up

Cricket World Cup England 2023 Match Dates & Schedule




October 5

England v New Zealand


October 10

England vs Bangladesh


October 14

England v Afghanistan


October 21

England v South Africa


October 26

England vs Qualifier 2


October 29

England v India


November 4

England v Australia


November 8

England v Qualifier 1


November 12

England vs Pakistan


See also  Who Are Kauli Vaast’s Parents: Father Gael Vast And Mother Age And Ethnicity

Categories: Trends
Source: HIS Education

Rate this post

Leave a Comment